All posts by jboushka@aol.com

Biographical summary part of my “Unified Documentary”

swanson

This sequence is a summary of my “different life”, showing the highlights and controversies in each period.  Then supplementary videos will go into more detail about each incident.

I did these initially by putting them onto Power Point with slides.  Later, I’ll use Final Cut to replace the slides and make everything flow and look better.

BIO Part 1:  Childhood in Arlington VA, 1943-1961

 

There needs to be a lot more detail about the piano lessons.

BIO Part 2:  William and Mary, fall 1961

 

BIO Part 3:  Back home, and then Inpatient at NIH (1962)

Part 3A – note about Cuban Missile Crisis of 1962 while patient at NIH

 

BIO Part 4: First wage earning job at NIH while going to GWU and living at home

Part 4A – Kennedy Assassination in 1963 while working at NBS

BIO Part 5:  Graduate school (1966-1967)

 

Part 6:  Army (1968-1970, Basic Training covered above)

 

(First published: Monday, April 13, 2015 at 10:45 PM EDT)

My first cut now at the “Do Ask, Do Tell: The Unified Documentary” video

IMG21177

Today, I sketched out a very rough cut of my “Do Ask, Do Tell: The Unified Documentary”, which is supposed to convey the material of the three DADT books assuming the viewer isn’t familiar with any of them.

That is different from, say, the 2014 DADT-III book which presumes familiarity with the first two in the series.

I simply talked into the camera.  I will add much more material (through Final Cut Pro, which I recently got for a MacBook Pro), and especially much relevant video (stills and moving), mostly of places I have actually visited and that relate to the material being discussed.

Some of what I saw may sound disturbing or controversial, so please interpret this in context, as “work in progress”.

OVERVIEW Part 1 explains why I wrote the DADT-1 book (1997).  I still think most young adults today are not familiar with the culture surrounding the male-only military draft during the Vietnam era and the “morally corrupt” system of deferments that essentially meant that some lives are more worthy than others, and that some lives can be sacrificed for the “common good” of others, definitely an idea that modern libertarianism overcomes.

OVER Part 2 jumps to present day, and presents the dilemma that modern Internet self-broadcast creates.

OVER Part 3 covers the period that I was at NIH in the fall of 1962, covers the way my homosexuality was perceived by others, as a kind of self-imposed eugenics and a distraction not only to my own future ability to have a family, but (because of the idea of a “commons” of culture) also to that of others around me. Since I went to GWU at night, I was the only “patient” who knew that the Cuban Missile Crisis was going on. The external politics did not encourage “family values”.

There is some more video about my “William and Mary Expulsion” in 1961 at my other WordPress blog,  here.

OVER Part 4 outlines the environment of my screenplay “Do Ask, Do Tell: Conscripted” with a crude home model railroad n-scale and Brio layout.

Part 5 illustrates the layout with some “driver education”. Actually, the first crash isn’t OK, as a 3-wheeled motorcycle (“Easy Rider”) is rear-ended.

(Published Thursday, April 2, 2015 at 7:45 PM EDT)

Film “Racing Extinction”, QA with director Louie Psihoyos and others, DC Environmental Film Festival

IMG21352

The screening of “Racing Extinction” was held at the Carnegie Science Center in Washington DC on May 29. 2015 at 7 PM, as the closing night event for the DC Environmental Film Festival

Question and Answer clips

1 : Louie Psihoyos says that the Internet makes environmental messages spread more quickly

2

3

4

5   Note the quantity of actual carbon in a tank of gasoline

6   Even race car drivers like Elon Musk’s Tesla

7   This is about “starting a movement”, not just making movies

8

9

10

(Published Monday March 30, 2015 at 1:45 PM EDT)

Books on libertarianism

IMG20285

As a political and cultural tradition, libertarianism has always offered the publication of a large number of books.

Probably the most straightforward series of books is that by Cato Institute scholar David Boaz.   In 1996, The Free Press published a duet of books:  “Libertarianism: A Primer” to be accompanied by a long collection of essays edited by Boaz “The Libertarian Reader“.  In 2015, Boaz rewrote and updated the primer with “The Libertarian Mind“, now published by Simon & Schuster.  I will give a more detailed review soon on my Book Review blog on Google’s Blogger.

Boaz’s narratives are rather straightforward and stick to basic principles, like non-aggression, freedom to contract, personal responsibility, and the idea that clear boundaries in the rule of law should exist when rights come into conflict.  He pays more attention to “gay rights” in the second version, but still emphasizes the idea of marriage as a private contract, an idea already gaining traction with other libertarian-oriented writers (like Jonathan Rauch) in the 1990s.

IMG20286

Of course, the best known writer might have been former Libertarian Party candidate Harry Browne (“How I Found Freedom in an Unfree World“) but Charles Murray may have been the most provocative.  In 1997, he had written the little missive “What It Means to Be a Libertarian“,  but in 2012 he wrote the stunning “Coming Apart“, where he analyzed the breakdown of “social capital”, which he says is particularly harming lower income or working class communities (he examined the Fishtown neighborhood of Philadelphia).   In fact, Boaz seems to share Murray’s concerns about voluntary social cohesion, pointing out that community-centered or “fraternal” companies and organizations (like in life insurance) have tended to serve special needs of people better than government.

My own series of “Do Ask, Do Tell” books has a history that somewhat parallels Boaz’s.  My first book came out about a year after Boaz’s “Primer”, and I was writing it at about the same time.  And my DADT III book was written about the same time as Boaz’s “rewrite”.  There are major differences.  My books have a lot of personal narratives, which Boaz does not (although the essays do).  Curiously, Boaz calls the third book “A Manifesto for Freedom”, and my first book (in 1997) was often called “The Manifesto” by friends.  I spend much more attention to the motivations others have for interfering with personal lives and expressions and demanding loyalty and solidarity with “the group”, even in areas like the military draft as well as public health.

One could even say that Jack Andraka’s “Breakthrough: How One Teen Innovator Is Changing the World” is a libertarian book, when it comes to the spirt of innovation.

(Published Friday, March 20, 2015 at 11:30 PM EDT.)

Entering my Sonata #3: Progress

IMG21147

I have started entering a lot more passages from my “Piano Sonata #3” from 1962, and then 1974, in Sibelius 7.5 on a new MacBook in an OS 10.2 Yosemite platform.

The first two movements, and most of the slow movement were composed in the spring of 1962, after I had entered George Washington University and was “living at home” after my William and Mary “expulsion” for admitting “latent homosexuality” the previous November. My father had experienced a mild “heart attack” over the stress and was sometimes unnerved by the volume of classical music coming up from the basement.  Some of the music, especially a theme in the slow movement, recalls that period.

I finished the slow movement and sketched out a finale while living in Piscataway, NJ in 1974, and traveling back and forth to St Paul MN while working for Univac.

I’ll give the “names” of the files, really for my own reference (they aren’t online as such), and note how they were entered.

A segment entered manually (“M”) is fitted to the measures exactly.  A segment recorded through the Midi from an electric piano is harder to read and doesn’t match the measures yet.

In the first three movements. all files have the form “Sonata3Mov1,,,: (or Mov2 or Mov3)

First movement

Ein:  Introduction, Molto Moderato, 4/4

E1  Exposition  C Major. Allegro Moderato, 2/2   page 2

E2  Exposition, A minor, second theme, Scherzando, page 3

D1 Development  Adagio, 4/4 no signature

D2   Moderato, F# Major, based on second theme

D2c  twelve tone fugato, Andante, 4/4  tone row based on first theme

About seven pages of development remain to be scored

R1  Recapitulation, 4/4, Eb Minor, based on first theme, Allegro Maestoso,  R2-R4 continue the Recapitulation with a “false start trick” to go to Ab Minor before returning to C for the second theme (to introduce more asymmetry — remember how the Recapitulation of Mozart’s famous C Major Sonata 15 first movement is a mirror of the exposition, starting in F, that’s a little boring). The Coda R5 goes suddenly to minor, Mahler-style, and introduces the descending third fragment to come back in the Finale.

7 pages of recapitulation remain.  The second theme slows down and reappears in C Major.  Then a new descending third “applause” motive appears, and leads to a quiet coda that suddenly turns to minor.

Second movement: Scherzo

E1 and E2:  Main theme, A-flat major, 3/4, Vivace, a lot of octave passage work, repeated rhythm cycles almost like Bruckner.

T1:  Trio, F Major.  This is a comic majestic section with lots of blocked chords in varying rhythms, followed by leggerio passage work, in many cycles.  The trio is long and takes 9 pages (just 2 are coded). There is a deliberately pedantic nature to it.

Main theme returns, briefly

A second trio, in C# Minor, 3/4 waltz (“Valse Triste”) rhythm, much shorter than the first

Main theme returns, about 5 pages, ends in a flourish, FF.

Third Movement: Elegy (slow movement)

E1  starts with a stately introduction, a twelve tone theme, but harmonized artificially in E-flat minor.

It then proceeds to a second theme, in F# Minor,  Adagio, the “father theme”, although there is a little bit of similarity to the slow movement theme of the Hammerklavier, but this is much more florid. (It’s not quite a “chamber of sorrows”).

E2 is a perfunctory fugato in B-flat minor, followed by a reprise of the “father theme”, expanded into octaves and four voices.

Then R1, “Religiosos”, is a 2-minute hymn, slow tempo, in B Major, very chromatic, rather like a Liszt Consolation.  It could be played stand alone (like as a church offertory).  It would work on an organ. It is essentially the “middle section” of the slow movement.

D1 and D2 “develop” the “father” theme and as well as  the opening tone-row.  They build up to a loud climax.

Here, I want to add a “cadenza” with some chordal passages showing how chromaticism and twelve-tone are equivalent, and introduce a fragment of the “Applause” theme for the finale. After great shouts, the movement will play the opening dirge in retrograde, harmonized again in E-flat minor, and close quietly and simply.

The Finale exists in hand sketch, one manually entered opening, then many passages recorded at the Casio.

The opening Allegretto, C Major (nominally) is a fugato  (“MSonat3FinaleS1”), 2/4 but with changing tempi (7/8 at one point), seemingly playful.

The Fugato “development) occurs in E2, E2a, E3a, mixing toccata-like fugal writing with dissonant chords.

The fugato generates a couple more playful themes, almost by asexual budding, as if to defend the introverted, solitary personality. The music becomes more chordal and modal, with tempo changes, until the true “second subject” appears, which I call the “Hold Applause” theme, based on a dream, but appropriate when a pianist wants to assemble a single uninterrupted program from contrasting composers.  The theme starts in F# Major, migrates though minor thirds to C before coming back to F#.  It is hymn-like, and may recall a Chopin military polonaise.

After more perambulations of the scherzo-like theme, the Applause theme occurs again with great majesty as a Rachmaninoff-style big tune, migrating from F# gradually back to C.

Hymn theme files:  HoldAppauseHymn1, HoldApplause1

Conclusion: Su701FsApplauseTheme (more melodic variety toward end), Su702Cfrom FS

(Published Tuesday,  March 17, 2015, 11:50 PM EDT)

 

 

 

 

A note about jobs and roles in film production

Bmus2

Because I’ve discussed a number of my own proposed film projects on this blog, and mentioned those of others of which I am aware recently in social media, I thought this would be a good time to review a few of the functions.

The main concept to mention is that typically an Executive Producer supervises the actual Producer(s), and director(s) and other screenwriters (producing the shooting script), who may be supervised first by the producer(s).  The concepts are explained on the PGA website here.  For a film where the content comes from an author who actively promotes the making of a film as he or she imagines it been viewed (without changes), the author may well wind up as an Executive Producer.  But the EP also has to be concerned with finding funding or investors and satisfying them. The concept could well apply to  completing an unfinished film from another source.

Typically there is some arrangement to compensate the EP in various steps.

While I’m mainly concerned with how to produce one of my own scripts, I am interested in assisting other artists with some specific possible projects of which I am aware.  The list is pretty narrow.

IMG_1619

(Published: Monday, March 16, 2015, around 11:30 PM EDT)

Will my novel, screenplays be “too close to my own life” for (other people’s) comfort? When will “Imajica” come to the screen?

Bmus3

Today I did discuss the subject of fiction disclaimers for the “fiction” part of my “Do Ask, Do Tell III” book on the notes WP blog.

There’s a remaining question:  when people write fiction, should they write stories modeled after situations they have been in or could be in?  Is fiction expected to be “politically correct” with respect to gender and race interchangeability?   It’s true, the most successful novelists seem to do well with scenarios far away from their own surroundings.

One of my screenplay treatments largely occurs on another planet, and the main one occurs on a “space station” near or on Titan, a moon of Saturn.  But unlike “fantasy” (which is essentially a “parallel universe” concept with no possible contact with Earth), my scenarios all assume that contact with “aliens” is possible and should happen.  In fact, the changes that would happen for life on Earth, over time, is of interest to me.  So I have to deal with problems like speed of light limits, black holes (maybe miniature), and wormholes.

That’s also true of the novel “Angel’s Brother”.

Generally, not all my characters can be interchangeable.  Usually, at least one is similar to me, but “I” and not always a “main” character (except in DADT-III as already published, and in the DADT-Conscripted screenplay).   In the novel, my past writings provide a lot of the “real” and rumored “backstories” for the main characters.  At least a few of them have to be “sexually attractive” in my value system, which means they have to be (fit) young adult white males.  Otherwise, there is no “tension”.  So be it.  But in the “conscripted” play, there should be at least one major character who differs from what “he” wants in order for him to understand the context of his mission.

As for the examples from other writers:  Tolkien would be the prime example of fantasy (with Hobbit and Lord of the Rings), along with all other fantasy like “Game of Thrones”.  “Harry Potter” is a kind of special case of fantasy.  Clive Barker’s “Imajica” has a richness comparable to Tolkien, with a major difference:  In this 1991 fantasy, the five “dominions” (essentially planets) are reconciled (by wormholes) so contact between them and Earth increasingly drives the apocalyptic conclusion of the plot, with a particular interpretation of Christianity.  This novel would be very controversial if filmed, but it is definitely Imax 3-D material (it would require two 150-minute films to cover the story).  It seems a natural for a company with a lot of contacts with British and Canadian film.  I prefer Lionsgate for this effort.  A lot of it would get filmed down under.

Another comparison is Frank Herbert’s “Dune” books and movies (80s), in which the various worlds have contact with one another but not Earth.  The same is true of “Star Wars”.  “Star Trek”, however, was simply far in the future for Earth; same for the “Alien” franchise.  “Pitch Black” (2000) was interesting. So is “Jupiter Ascending” where there is contact with Earth.

IMG12226

Update: March 16

I saw Disney’s remake of “Cinderella” tonight (Branagh’s direction, Weisz’s writing) and, yes, I am struck by how relationships and “marriage” are presented as mattering for the future of a people. I also see that the movie still would work (even better) if you do introduce race into it.  There were some gremlins in the kingdom that sound familiar from the other “Imajica” dominions.

 

I do have copies of the screenplays “Adaptation”, “Good Will Hunting” and “Storm of the Century”

IMG21045

As I prepare to revamp my major screenplay (“Do Ask, Do Tell: Conscripted”) and tidy-up at least three other works, I took a look at the printed screenplays I had purchased from Amazon years ago, probably when I was living in Minnesota. These appear to be “shooting scripts”.

The most important of these is “Adaptation” (2002) directed by Spike Jonze and written by Charlie Kaufman, from Columbia.  I saw this film in a large complex in suburban Edina, MN.  As printed, the script runs just 100 pages, but there is a lot of commentary in the appendix.

This film is remarkable in that it is a “meta-film” — that is, a movie about writing a screenplay to adapt a book to film.  The book is “The Orchid Thief”  by Susan Orlean.   The main screenwriter (and actual writer for “Adaptation”) is Charlie Kaufman.  Now Kaufman has developed writer’s block and hates formulaic screenwriting. So do I!  He finds out that his twin brother (a doppelganger invented for the movie) has sold a horror movie screenplay “The 3”.  Both brothers are played by Nicholas Cage, but the effect in the film is more like that of other doppelganger movies like “Enemy” (Jake Gyllenhaal) and “The Double” (Jesse Eisenberg).  Gradually the film shifts from being about the screenwriting (and ideas in the industry like “spec script”) and the actual events in the novel, leading to a chase in the Florida Everglades and to murder, almost as in a Hitchcock film.  This movie was well liked by critics,

The screenplay draft follows all the industry standards, and doesn’t show the layering.  I have that issue in my own work, and find I need to set up a relational database and number the scenes on the database, and tie them to the draft.

IMG21046

This film is sometimes said to be a sequel of “Being John Malkovich” (Jan. 8, 2015).

The second film to discuss here is the uplifting “Good Will Hunting” (1996, Miramax), directed by Gus Van Sant. Matt Damon (then 26) plays the undiscovered math prodigy Will Hunting, Ben Affleck is his best friend in South Boston, and Robin Williams plays Will’s therapist. Will is very determined that his talents won’t be misused by the government (most of all, the NSA).  This was a very inspiring film when I saw it.  Remember the line, “It’s not your fault.”  This script is longer, 156 pages.

The third is Stephen King’s “Storm of the Century“, a six-hour miniseries on ABC in 1999.  King did not publish this as a novel, just as the screenplay, 376 pages for the equivalent of 3 films.  A monstrous visitor Linoges (Colm Feore) takes over Little Tall Island off the coast of Maine as a record-setting President’s Day weekend blizzard shuts down the town.  It is true that February is the most likely time of year for this kind of Noreaster. Remember the line “Give me what I want and I’ll go away”.  But what he wants is mysterious, and has a lot to do with the lost colony off Roanoke Island, NC back in the 15th Century.

(Published,  Monday,   March 9, 2015, about 12:15 PM EDT)

 

Why does “The Duke of Burgundy” stick out in my mind?

IMG20678

Another recent film, “The Duke of Burgundy” (directed by Peter Strickland), which I saw at the West End Cinema in Washington DC last week, brings up a “juvenile” writing effort from my own past. The title of the film refers to a butterfly with whom the dominant lesbian in the film works.  (Yes, that’s Tiny Tim’s “O Gay Way Butterfly” in my Army days at Fort Eustis.) Some how the title reminds me of David Cronenberg’s “Spider” about a metally ill man living in a halfway house.  I saw a special premier in Minneapolis at the Landmark Lagoon in Uptown with the director present for QA.

In ninth grade (spring 1958) “General Education” class in junior high school (these were in the days that formal high school started in tenth grade), we had read some Dumas novels for book reports (I was taking French I, and I think we read some excerpts in that class, too)  — particularly “The Three Musketeers”.  Then we had some creative writing.  I wrote a story called “Who Stole the Mona Lisa?” which, as I recall, got pretty gory (as to what happened to the bad guys when caught), and got pretty graphic as to descriptions of what is manly.  Then I wrote (in English) a two-act play “The Duke of Burgundy“, about which I recall relatively little now.  I think it was about how Philip the Good (Philip III) contributed to the capture of Joan of Arc.  Maybe the handwritten manuscript is lying around in the attic somewhere.  I would see the Columbia-Gaumont film “The Messenger: The Story of Joan of Arc“, directed by Luc Beeson, with Milla Jolovich, on a cold night on Thanksgiving weekend of 1999 on a road trip, in Aberdeen, SD.

The BBC film on the life of Joan of Arc appears above.

There was a film in 1977 “The Message“, a biography of Mohammed (as inspired by the Angel Gabriel), directed by Moustapha Akkad, which I remember seeing at the Uptown in Washington.  Mohammed was (is) the messenger from the one God, Allah.

I also wrote a short story in Ninth Grade French Class called “La vielle maison“, or “The Old House“.  A teenager walks into a house with a false front (like on an “Amos ‘n’ Andy” episode from the 1950s) and finds himself on Mars.  When it gets hard to breathe, he has to struggle to get back through the door in a dust storm.

But in Tenth Grade English, in high school, when we had a writing assignment for the short story unit, I wrote a story “The Lifeguard“, where a teen is confronted with whether to save a drowning victim when there is an air raid, for real, warning of impending nuclear attack — that is, “duck and cover”.  I got a “B” ion the story, but an A in the course.