Category Archives: outdoor roadside attractions

Exurban northern VA — the lake and river country; women’s suffrage exhibit

dscnf407

I visited Burke Lake park in southern Fairfax VA.

I found some ducks quite willing to be photographed up close.  These are wild animals that seem to be OK with people.

1

2

Later I found an exhibit in Occoquan Park on the Women’s Suffrage movement in the U.S. starting in Woodrow Wilson’s administration.  Women were put into detention and work camps that looked like military bases.

(Posted: Friday, November 11, 2016 at 9:45 AM EDT)

dscnf413

Visit to Maryland Renaissance Fair

IMG30802

Saturday, I paid a visit to the Renaissance Fair north of Annapolis, MD (actually Crownsville).

I’ll note some hightlights and embed my own comments.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12   An art shop that reminds me of the Third Dominion in Clive Barker’s book “Imajica”.

13:  A preview of my screenplay “Do Ask, Do Tell: Ephiphany”.  This would fit into the 1776 Training Center (Sector 2 of 5 in the space station ashram — and by the way, I need to review if for how the memories of how the protagonist “me” got there progress — rather like waking up from general anesthesia.

14:  There is a glassblowing shop and training station in Sector 2 in my screenplay

15

16

Crownsville, by the way, is the hometown of the Andraka brothers.

I guess everybody is forgetting about Brexit.  (Whoops?? England?)

(Posted: Monday, August 29, 2016 at 12:45 PM EDT)

 

Visit to Cumberland Gap, a place in 3 states (TN, KY. VA)

DSCNF333

I made a three-day odyssey this week, to visit Cumberland Gap and drive the tunnel on 35-E completed in 1996.

DSCNF337

The old road (a “high way of death”) was torn out and returned to its natural condition as a trail for Daniel Boone.

I visited a Veteran’s Memorial Part on Cheat Mountain, looking west, 20 miles S, on 25-E.   Another veteran was there.

DSCNF354

The views of the town of Cumberland Gap and the two ends of the tunnel can be seen from the Pinnacle (although the tunnel opening itself cannot be seen and there is no parking area for a photo).  The rail tunnel can be visited on foot from the Tennessee town.

1

2

3

4

5


By Stratosphere – Own work, GFDL,  link  under CCSA 4.0.

1280px-Cumberland_Gap_Tunnel

(Posted: Friday. Aug. 26, 2016 at 11:30 PM EDT)

“After-Life on Doomsday Planet” — short film by me

IMG30573

Here’s a little sci-fi film (“After-Life on Doomsday Planet“) about what would be like after a Carrington Event solar storm and coronal mass ejection, or after a high-altitude EMP attack.  Actually, I took the footage Saturday night at the Montgomery County Fair in Gaitherbsurg, MD, and there is electricity in some scenes.  Another way to interpret this little film is that it is set on an alien world.

IMG30576

Clip 1 — Pumping well water

Clip 2 — water

Clip 3  — country dancing and merriment

Clip 4 — dogs do what they do

Clip 5 — hypnosis  (remember the 1960 horror film, “The Hypnotic Eye“, that used to air on Saturday night “Chiller”.

Clip 6 — rides 1

Clip 7  — rides 2

Clip 8  — ride on a tractor through an alien planet city

Clip 9 — alien ride — Part 2

i don’t know if some of the gizmos on sale are Pokemon Go monsters, or come from Japanese manga and Danganronpa.

IMG30555

Homage for all doomsday preppers!

(Posted Monday, Aug. 22, 2016, 10 AM EDT)

Again, On the Road: Spruce Knob, W Va

IMG30209

Spruce Knob, on the Allegheny Front eastern continental divide, is the highest point in W Va and the highest point within 200 miles of Washington DC (about 185 miles, 5 hours including 40 minutes to drive the narrow paved road, 12 miles, to the summit, from US 33/WVa 28 near Riverton).

I thought I hadn’t gotten to the summit since 1994, but I then discovered I had been there in August 2010, and then returned to Blackwater Falls in September.

1

2

3

4

SR 93 from Davis through the old strip mine fields is now replaced by US 48, which is being made into a freeway.  The Atlas shows 48 intersecting 32 just north of Davis and south of Thomas.  But the sign still says 32. The W-bound side still is about 8 miles short of completion to Davis.  The reclaimed strip mines look like terraced landfills, near the Mt. Storm power plant.  There is one coal processing plant. Halfway between Mt. Storm and Moorefield there is a rather ugly quarry, shortly after the scenic overlook, looking east from the Allegheny escarpment (with wind turbines on top of the ridge).

IMG30220

(Posted: Friday, July 22, 2016, at 11:30 PM EDT)

A couple more cell pictures, posted on Instagram

Spruce Knob summit

instasprucekbob1

US 48 view,  some stripmine cuts or quarries visible from overlook 20 miles NW of Moorefield

instaus48-1

 

Mountain trip: VA, W Va high country clips

 

IMG29537

One of the most scenic highways in Virginia is US 250, which crosses eight mountain gaps on the way to the W Va border.  It is the highest normal US highway in the East north of North Carolina-TN (where US 441 is over 5100 feet in spots).  There are plenty of hairpin turns, and the last approach to the divide above Monterey takes forever.   There are no tunnels to my knowledge.

Clip 1:

Along US 250 at Shenandoah Mountain gap, about 3300 feet

Clip 2:
Allegheny Mountain, on W Va border, 4330 feet on highway, about 4500 on surrounding peaks; there is a nice home and property on the border at 4500 feet maybe a quarter mile off the road; a lot of land is privately owned despite National Forest. This is also the Eastern Continental Divide; the same mountain formation houses the Allegheny Mountain tunnel on the PA Turnpike 150 miles to the north. Climate is Canadian in winter, like going 600 miles north. Elevation matters more in eastern US than in the Rockies. The same mountain also produces Spruce Knob about 30 miles to the north.

Clip 3:

Spruce Knob Mountain Center, on dirt road from W Va 28, I think at about 4000 feet; the peak is off in the distance

Clip 4:

Shenandoah Mountain on US 33 west of Harrisonburg, very steep road although elevation not so high (about 3500 at gap)

Clip 5:

(Published: Saturday, June 18, 2016 at 10 AM EDT)

Visit to Rays Hill Tunnel, Pennsylvania

IMG_0905

Sunday, I visited the abandoned Rays Hill Tunnel at the western entrance, near Breezewood PA,  on a section of the Pennsylvania Turnpike rerouted over two mountains between Breezewood and Fort Littleton.

IMG_9182

You can park just east of the Quality Inn, at the Tannery Road lot off US 30, on the north side.  You climb up a little hill, and it is about 8500 feet to the tunnel, about 25 minutes to walk.

The graffiti is striking and vulgar.  There is a work room that looks like a chamber of horrors,

IMG_9185

Donald Trump would ask, why doesn’t the Pennsylvania Turnpike fix this up, charge admission and make money off this land as a park open to the public, especially bicycles (which use the trails “illegally” now).

1

2

3

4

5

6

Films of the Shenandoah (“Brown Mountain” or “Rocky Mount”) fire areas

IMG28852

On Monday, May 16, 2016 I visited the burned are in Shenandoah National Park, 12 miles south of the US 33- south entrance (between Remington and Harrisonburg, VA), near the Brown Mountain Overlook at Milepost 77, looking West.

IMG28842

It’s important to note that this not the same as “Brown Mountain NC”, site of the famous lights (which actually occur at several places in Virginia and North Carolina — high school chemistry explanations — covered here Nov. 4, 2015).  The fire has also been called the “Rocky Mount Fire”, no connection to the Rocky Mountains in western US and Canada.

IMG28839

Vegetation was already starting to grow back.  But the visual effect was striking.

IMG90864

I saw very little fire damage on the south side of Skyline Drive.

Wildfires may occur in the East.  The Virginia fires don’t seem to have jeopardized homes.

1

2

3

4

 

Here’s a video on “What Caused the Fort McMurray Fire?” in northern Alberta?

And I can’t resist sharing this slide show of Expeditions by (22-year old nuclear physicist) Taylor Wilson, maybe the raw material for a documentary film. in Nevada, New Mexico and northwestern Arkansas. The “SCI” in the website name seems to refer to a level of security clearance.

The next-to-last story in my “Do Ask Do Tell III” book is called “Expedition“.

(Posted: Tuesday, May 17, 2016 at 12 noon EDT)

 

 

Visit to Sideling Hill abandoned tunnel from Pennsylvania Turnpike

IMG28560

On Saturday, I visited the east entrance of the Sideling Hill Tunnel on an abandoned section of the Pennsylvania Turnpike.  I was able to find the parking lot off Pump Station Road. There is a mailbox suggesting private property, but there is a lot about 400 feet into the woods, on top of the abandoned turnpike itself, blacktop, then cut off with concrete barriers so that no one can drive on it.

IMG90824

 

It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the tunnel (off to the west), about one mile, around two curves.

IMG28567

There are a few private mobile residences on the ridge above it, to the south, along with cats who live there and may greet visitors.

You can get to the entrance on paved road. Take 522 N toward Fort Littleton, turn off just to the south of US 30 on PA 475 toward Hustontown, then take Hess Road, paved, about three more miles to Pump Station road.  The parking lot is in a wooded area less than a mile south of this intersection.

I see that I had written about an earlier trip on April 19, 2015 on the other WP blpg, link.

Here are a few clips I made.

1


2

3

There’s an odd graffiti mark that suggests the name of “Rado Suhl”, after whom an Army buddy at Fort Eustis had named himself back in 1969.

IMG28562

Some scenes from John Hillcoat’s apocalyptic thriller “The Road” (2009), based on the novel by Cormac McCarthy, were filmed around the tunnel entrance (maybe the west side), review link here.

(Published: Sunday, May 1, 2016, 11:45 PM EDT)