Category Archives: my film clips

“Donald Trump!” says “you’re not all welcome in my new hotel on Pennsylvania Ave

img31142
How many times can I say “Donald Trump” without breathing?

Here are two short film clips at his Hotel on Pennsylvania Ave. in Washington DC, Monday, Sept. 12, late in the day. Actually, he still leases the building from the USPS.

1

2

 

Don’t expect “radical hospitality” from Donald Trump.

img31145

(Posted Monday, Sept. 12, 2016 at 11:45 PM)

AARP Meal Pack Challenge

img31119

Here is a little “amateur” footage from the closing of the AARP “Meal Pack Challenge” today near the Reflecting Pool in Washington.  I had signed up for the last shift at 2 PM, and weighted rice for 20 minutes until we ran out and started packing up.

img31120

The benefit is intended to provide food for impoverished seniors in the Washington DC area,

1

2

3

 

(Posted: Monday, September 12, 2016 at 4:30 PM EDT)

Visit to Maryland Renaissance Fair

IMG30802

Saturday, I paid a visit to the Renaissance Fair north of Annapolis, MD (actually Crownsville).

I’ll note some hightlights and embed my own comments.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12   An art shop that reminds me of the Third Dominion in Clive Barker’s book “Imajica”.

13:  A preview of my screenplay “Do Ask, Do Tell: Ephiphany”.  This would fit into the 1776 Training Center (Sector 2 of 5 in the space station ashram — and by the way, I need to review if for how the memories of how the protagonist “me” got there progress — rather like waking up from general anesthesia.

14:  There is a glassblowing shop and training station in Sector 2 in my screenplay

15

16

Crownsville, by the way, is the hometown of the Andraka brothers.

I guess everybody is forgetting about Brexit.  (Whoops?? England?)

(Posted: Monday, August 29, 2016 at 12:45 PM EDT)

 

Visit to Cumberland Gap, a place in 3 states (TN, KY. VA)

DSCNF333

I made a three-day odyssey this week, to visit Cumberland Gap and drive the tunnel on 35-E completed in 1996.

DSCNF337

The old road (a “high way of death”) was torn out and returned to its natural condition as a trail for Daniel Boone.

I visited a Veteran’s Memorial Part on Cheat Mountain, looking west, 20 miles S, on 25-E.   Another veteran was there.

DSCNF354

The views of the town of Cumberland Gap and the two ends of the tunnel can be seen from the Pinnacle (although the tunnel opening itself cannot be seen and there is no parking area for a photo).  The rail tunnel can be visited on foot from the Tennessee town.

1

2

3

4

5


By Stratosphere – Own work, GFDL,  link  under CCSA 4.0.

1280px-Cumberland_Gap_Tunnel

(Posted: Friday. Aug. 26, 2016 at 11:30 PM EDT)

“After-Life on Doomsday Planet” — short film by me

IMG30573

Here’s a little sci-fi film (“After-Life on Doomsday Planet“) about what would be like after a Carrington Event solar storm and coronal mass ejection, or after a high-altitude EMP attack.  Actually, I took the footage Saturday night at the Montgomery County Fair in Gaitherbsurg, MD, and there is electricity in some scenes.  Another way to interpret this little film is that it is set on an alien world.

IMG30576

Clip 1 — Pumping well water

Clip 2 — water

Clip 3  — country dancing and merriment

Clip 4 — dogs do what they do

Clip 5 — hypnosis  (remember the 1960 horror film, “The Hypnotic Eye“, that used to air on Saturday night “Chiller”.

Clip 6 — rides 1

Clip 7  — rides 2

Clip 8  — ride on a tractor through an alien planet city

Clip 9 — alien ride — Part 2

i don’t know if some of the gizmos on sale are Pokemon Go monsters, or come from Japanese manga and Danganronpa.

IMG30555

Homage for all doomsday preppers!

(Posted Monday, Aug. 22, 2016, 10 AM EDT)

Again, On the Road: Spruce Knob, W Va

IMG30209

Spruce Knob, on the Allegheny Front eastern continental divide, is the highest point in W Va and the highest point within 200 miles of Washington DC (about 185 miles, 5 hours including 40 minutes to drive the narrow paved road, 12 miles, to the summit, from US 33/WVa 28 near Riverton).

I thought I hadn’t gotten to the summit since 1994, but I then discovered I had been there in August 2010, and then returned to Blackwater Falls in September.

1

2

3

4

SR 93 from Davis through the old strip mine fields is now replaced by US 48, which is being made into a freeway.  The Atlas shows 48 intersecting 32 just north of Davis and south of Thomas.  But the sign still says 32. The W-bound side still is about 8 miles short of completion to Davis.  The reclaimed strip mines look like terraced landfills, near the Mt. Storm power plant.  There is one coal processing plant. Halfway between Mt. Storm and Moorefield there is a rather ugly quarry, shortly after the scenic overlook, looking east from the Allegheny escarpment (with wind turbines on top of the ridge).

IMG30220

(Posted: Friday, July 22, 2016, at 11:30 PM EDT)

A couple more cell pictures, posted on Instagram

Spruce Knob summit

instasprucekbob1

US 48 view,  some stripmine cuts or quarries visible from overlook 20 miles NW of Moorefield

instaus48-1

 

A Capitol Fourth, 2016: Clips, with some surprising political retrospect

IMG29930

It started with a chain dance, not exactly a Virginia Reel from the old days of straight singles clubs.  Before, a couple of brothers played a game of mistaken identity on Capitol Hill.

1

2

Then Colin Powell gave a speech appealing for the USO, which entertains troops, often at some sacrifice by performers.  Now the USO comes up in the 1999 film “Southpark” when “Big Gay Al” mentions it (before blaming Canada);  he made an allusion to my book and the military DADT at the time.  In fact, Powell, as Chariman JCS, first opposed President Clinton’s 1993 plan to lift the military ban on gays, but gradually accepted “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, Don’t Pursue” which Clinton announced July 19 that year at Ft. McNair.

3

Besides the closing of the Tchaikovsky 1812 Overture, the National Symphony played the “Liberty Fanfare” by John Williams:  Two brief clips (the second is the ending)

4

5

(Posted: Monday, July 4, 2016 at 11:45 PM EDT)

IMG29942

Also: Fort McNair in Washington DC (site of Clinton’s DADTDP speech)

mcnair

Sample of Basque music at Smithsonian Folklife festival

IMG29738

Here are a few clips of Basque music and show from the Smithsonian Folklife Festival, opening day on June 29, 2016, on the Mall in Washington DC.

IMG29823

Concert at 3 PM: Concluding song with accordions, winds, and percussion (four segments)

1

2

3

4

Earlier clips from the same group

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

Earlier clips before the main event; last two are folk dances

12

13

14

15

16

17

A cappella singing

18

 

(Posted: Friday, July 1, 2016 at 9:30 PM EDT)