I get to work on “Angel’s Brother” again (for a third cycle of revisions)

I am starting to get back to reviewing this novel, with all its loose ends, now that I have finally pretty much finished my relocation.

One of the most critical concepts is the “fact or fiction” divide.

It looks like I went into great detail about this on Nov. 3, 2014, where I refer to my other two big manuscripts that I described here July 3, 2014. ‘

Essentially, everything in “Novel 2” centered around the retired FBI agent Ali has really “happened”, up to the events in Minnesota in the middle of the novel, before their characters resume their journey to the “spaceship”.   The “real” Ali had learned about Bill’s manuscript through a grapevine, as Bill had only put some summaries up online.  Then, as a teenager around age 14, Sal has developed his hacking tools to find the entire manuscript in the Cloud.  Sal’s motive is to find out if he really is “gifted” enough to become an “angel”.

Bill’s idea of an “Academy” also really exists;  it had come from a job interview in the 80s with a company that managed “civilian defense reservists”.  But Bill had never lived there.

What then happens in “reality” is that a second “Matt” is born, to be the right age, to a woman who is a doppleganger of the “Kelly Skiis” in Bill’s “Rain on the Snow” novel.

Ali has the pull to get the government to look into Bill’s writings and Sal’s hack, because it does predict an “AIDS II” pandemic, of sorts, a kind of Andromeda strain.  The CIA locates its special “quasi military” agent Randy, and Sal is tracked down (also in Dallas) in his ROTC program. Without any one person in the CIA, FBI or Homeland Security understanding everything, the meeting of Randy, at the prime of life in his 40s. and Sal, 21, finishing college, in Poland at the Holocaust site is set up.  Their relationship, which more or less parallels marriage but is not that, drives everything else, leading to the journey toward the end and the meeting at the space ship and “going up”.

Then, there is the idea of “retrocession”.  Not everyone will make it. Some of the “angels” were ceded to Earth to start civilization, and now they are ceded back.  Civilizations fail and have to start over, while the best of us get to explore the stars.  It sounds so elitist, but maybe that’s how it is.

It’s up to us.  Don’t blow our civilization and leave it to the preppers, the “leftovers”.  But it looks like we are about to do that.

(Posted: Wednesday, Nov. 29, 2017 at 11:45 PM EST)

“Shop Small” Event held at LGBT DC Center for “Small Business Saturday”

The Capital Area Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce and the DC Center held a Shop Small event at the DC Center on 14th and U Streets NW today, to celebrate “Small Business Saturday”.

How many of us are ready to “go small” like in Matt Damon’s upcoming movie “Downsizing”?

There were novelty items, a book publisher, a coffee business, a vegan restaurant, pizza, and a chiropractor.  I took the chiro exam and was found out-of-alignment toward the Left, no pun intended.

1

2

3  Homage to “Charlie’s Angels”.

(Posted: Saturday, Nov. 25, 2017 at 5 PM EST)

Damage debris still remains in much of Florida Keys from Irma — today’s visit

Here is some footage I took of Hurricane Irma damage and recovery in the Florida keys today.

1   Between Islamadora and Marathon, a condo that appeared to be replaced by mobile homes

2 Deer Key

Linemen repairing still

From Islamadora to 30 miles from Key West there were many piles of debris along the road, some with parts of buildings

Cell videos

3

4

5

(Posted: Sunday Nov 19, 2017 at 11 PM EST)

Florida East Coast seems OK after hurricane Irma (2 months)

Well, Fort Lauderdale, FL, even on the beach, seems to be in good shape two months after Hurricane Irma, whose eye apparently stayed 60 miles to the west. They were buffeted by weak tornadoes (east side of storm) and had some trees blown down and some minor damage, but a lot of flooded roads.

More beach bars:

 

Wilton Manors — I hear the power never went off, and that many power poles in Florida are made of cement rather than wood, which seems a reasonable alternative to going underground.

Yes, the draw bridges work.

And the freight trains run (and so does the Miami Metro).

Recall,  however, the nursing home in nearby Hollywood Hills that had a number of deaths due to lack of sufficient backup generator air conditioning, NBC story.

(Posted: Saturday, Nov. 18, at 6:30 PM EDT)

New exoplanet near a red dwarf 11 light years away may fit the criteria for my script “Prescience”

There’s a lot of interest in a planet around red dwarf star Ross 128 b, just 11 light years away.

This particular star is much more stable than most red dwarfs and probably does not blast its planets with radiation that would strip away the atmosphere or destroy life.

The planet seems to be slightly larger than Earth, and may be tidally locked, which means that an annular zone would be in perpetual twilight. But winds might make the climate everywhere fairly mild.

Such a planet is described in one of my scripts, “Prescience.”

Loren Grush has a detailed article on The Verge

By NASA/Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics/D. Aguilar – http://www.nasa.gov/sites/default/files/reddwarfplanet_cfa_full_1.jpg, Public Domain, Link

(Posted: Thursday, Nov. 16, 2017 at 11:30 PM EST)

The Richmond monuments still stand, and not all of them have to do with the Confederacy

Today I visited the controversial monuments along Monument Ave. in Richmond VA.

There are some reports on the controversy, following Charlottesville, for example WTVR and Richmond Times Dispatch.

The westernmost one is of tennis star Arhtur Ashe.

But others include Stonewall Jackson, Robert E. Lee, and (the most elaborate) Jefferson Davis.

Near the Davis monument, as I took a picture while stopped in the car, a vehicle threatened to sideswipe me.

After I parked and got out, a haggard woman came up to me and asked me if I could start her car when she lost the key. No, I’m no good at things you need for crime, which is a bit ironic.

But then another silver Focus identical to mine, and I tried to open that one before I found my own after the photos.

The Richmond Marathon was held today, and some streets around Broad and Boulevard had closures.

Arthur Ashe:

Jefferson Davis:

Robert E. Lee

 

(Posted: Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017 at 7 PM EST)

Bedford County PA town recovers from spectacular train wreck and displacements; visit today

Today I made a brief visit through the town of Hyndman PA, on state route 96 in southern Bedford County, 10 miles north of the Maryland border above Cumberland.

On Wed. Aug. 2 CSX had a freight train derailment which led to a fire and evacuation of many residents.  Many had to stay in a shelter (maybe in Bedford) by some were housed by the railroad in hotels in Bedford or Cumberland. Winding up in a shelter because of disaster could happen to anyone.

Pittsburgh Post Gazette account.

WTAE account.

WESA FM account of return.

1   Stop on 96

2    Intersection where accident happened

3  cell phone

 

4  (cell phone) train passes

5 Bedford (cell phone)

I found that the accident did not happen on 96, but on a street that extends north of town.

(Posted: Thursday, Nov. 2, 2017 at 10:45 PM EDT)