Category Archives: educational

March for Science in Washington D.C.

I attended the March for Science in Washington DC today, and did the March down Constitution Ave as far as 10th Street.  Note even the first picture above, “Truth” is part of the “eternal feminine” in the Paul Rosenfels polarity system for personal psychological growth.  But this today is about policy.

When I arrived, I found a line, which I had thought was for the March itself.  I hiked around some fences and paths to get to 17th St, on the Monument grounds, and found that the line was really set up to enter the grounds.  There were only two checkpoints, and the line did get moving.  At first I wondered if the low number of checkpoints was a way to keep the size down and reduce the political visibility of the march.

But after about an hour I finally made it to the entry point, and found they were only checking backpacks.  The crowd was huge.

1     arrival

1a    the line

2      waiting in line still

3  — the speaker says, get over aversion to politics and asking for money

4    Rejection of the idea of alternative facts, and that policy must always be based on real facts; this does not trample on the personal experience of religion.

5

6

More pictures

or “peer review”

I found later that someone made a sign of Jack Andraka’s book (“Breakthough“) quote Science shouldn’t be a luxury, knowledge shouldn’t be a commodty“.

(Posted: Saturday, April 22, 2017 at 8:45 PM EDT)

A visit to Infinity Mirrors by Yayoi Kusama at SI Hirshhorn in Washington

I visited the Infinity Mirrors Exhibit by Yayoi Kusama at Hirshhorn today.

I showed up for the day-pass line at about 9:10 AM.  The line was combined with the other line, and slowly started moving at 9:35.  I finally got my pass at about 11:20,  over two hours after I arrived.

Two hours of my time are worth money.  I would rather pay a fair price for a ticket (maybe $10) at a specific time by credit card or Paypal and not have a hassle.  The Monday noon ticket giveway times out before most users can get ticket.

Before I got in at 1 PM, I encountered Chris the Mockingbird.

Later I encountered him in the garden and he seemed to recognize me.  Mockingbirds are musicians.  But the males do not have plumage color that gives them the obvious external trappings of manhood.  They seem to have made some sort of sacrifice.

In the museum. there were five rooms with the last one temporarily closed.  You go into the room and have 20-30 seconds.  The effect is to see many copies of yourself as in the movie “Interstellar”, where in the end people are saved by creating their own little tesseracts.

You’re not supposed to use flash, and I apologize for one shot;  I thought I had turned it off on my Canon Power Shot but it went off.

Video 1

Video 2

There was also artwork simulating life on other planets.

Are these plants or animals?

And there was a piano room.

Video 3

More pics

1

2

3

(Posted: Thursday, March 9, 2017 at 6:45 PM EST)

Gusty thunderstorms

Just to get some video work started (as a workup for some personal history videos to back up a movie proposal),  here are three videos, on a better camera (Nikon Coolpix) as a gusty thunderstorm moved through Arlington VA today.

1

2

3  Looks like I jerked the camera, or the lens got wet

Also: Video of a shelf cloud in Laurel Mountains in Pennsylvania, Weather channel.

Midwest tornado outbreak February 28, 2017 in Missouri and Illinois;  Tornadic storms popped up out of nothing (Weather channel pictures).

(Posted: Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 3 PM EST)

 

Films of the Shenandoah (“Brown Mountain” or “Rocky Mount”) fire areas

IMG28852

On Monday, May 16, 2016 I visited the burned are in Shenandoah National Park, 12 miles south of the US 33- south entrance (between Remington and Harrisonburg, VA), near the Brown Mountain Overlook at Milepost 77, looking West.

IMG28842

It’s important to note that this not the same as “Brown Mountain NC”, site of the famous lights (which actually occur at several places in Virginia and North Carolina — high school chemistry explanations — covered here Nov. 4, 2015).  The fire has also been called the “Rocky Mount Fire”, no connection to the Rocky Mountains in western US and Canada.

IMG28839

Vegetation was already starting to grow back.  But the visual effect was striking.

IMG90864

I saw very little fire damage on the south side of Skyline Drive.

Wildfires may occur in the East.  The Virginia fires don’t seem to have jeopardized homes.

1

2

3

4

 

Here’s a video on “What Caused the Fort McMurray Fire?” in northern Alberta?

And I can’t resist sharing this slide show of Expeditions by (22-year old nuclear physicist) Taylor Wilson, maybe the raw material for a documentary film. in Nevada, New Mexico and northwestern Arkansas. The “SCI” in the website name seems to refer to a level of security clearance.

The next-to-last story in my “Do Ask Do Tell III” book is called “Expedition“.

(Posted: Tuesday, May 17, 2016 at 12 noon EDT)

 

 

Major illustrated lecture on Titan by author of major sci-fi novel

PIA20021-SaturnMoonTitan-MagicIsland-20160302

The SETI Institute offers a 49 minute lecture (March 25, 2016) by Michael Carroll, heavily illustrated with artist drawinsg,, of Titan, by Michael Carroll, author of the 2015 science fiction novel “On the Shore of Titan’s Farthest Sea”.

Carroll provides a simulation of exactly what the cameras on Huygens saw over two minutes as it landed in 2005, along with stunning renditions of dunes, lakes, and an explanation of how submarines would work in extremely cold hyrdrocarbon lakes (methane evaporates, creating rain, but leaving ethane). Ice cliffs are as hard as concrete, and enormous sand dunes are forced from hydrocarbon soot that falls from the sky.

Titan_poster.svg

(Continuing discussion from Nov. 12, 2015.)

Wikipedia attribution link for NASA photo map of a lake on Titan similar to the lecture (p.d.)

Wikipedia attribution link for diagram of Titan’s internal structure by Kelvinlsong, CCSA 3.0

Here’s another lecture, “It’s Life, Jim, but Not as We Know it”, by Jason Barnes

Smithsonian “Air & Space” has a 2016 section “Life in the Universe” with two chapters: “Life among the Gas Giants” (including Titan), and “Would We Know Alien Life If We Saw It”? about Mars, going back to 1976 (why Dan Fry thought there was evidence of life).

(Published: Wednesday, April 27, 2016, 11:45 PM EDT)

Informative videos showing what Europa and Titan would look like if we were there

IMG12475

The Open University has a series on Moons in the Solar System, and two of them are particularly interesting

Video 1 is about Europa, the moon of Jupiter that is covered with an ice sheet and is likely to have a 60-kilometer deep ocean heated by tidal friction.

Europa has been considered by some astronomers as the most likely other place (besides Mars) in the solar system to have (underwater) life. But Ganymede may have a similar structure, and possibly even Callisto.

In the movie “2010: A Space Odyssey” (based on Arthur C. Clarke’s novel), aliens convert a “leprous” Jupiter to a sun, so that Europa, which is to be left alone, to another earth.

In the 2014 movie “Europa Report” and undersea creature releases the Earth’s spacecraft so it can go home.

Cryobot

Above is a NASA artist’s idea of what a cryobot might see in the Europa ocean (P.d., wikipedia attribution link).

IMG12474

The Video number 3 in the series is about Titan, the largest moon of Saturn, and the only one in the atmosphere with an atmosphere.

The Cassini space proble landed the component Huygens on Titan’s surface in early 2005.

IMG12482

The moon, larger than Mercury about with about 1/6 the gravity of Earth, features methane seas and rain, and low ridges and plains of sandy material.  The atmosphere contains thiols, which contain organic materials that could constitute precursors to bacteria-like organisms.  Most artists conceptions show an orange sky that is surprisingly bright with reflected light from Saturn.

Titan also appears to have an under-surface water layer, which could conceivably harbor life in a manner similar to Europa.

Huygens_surface_color

Above is the public domain photo of the Titan surface from Huygens (NASA), wikipedia attribution here.

TSSM-TandEM-Montgolfiere

Above is a NASA artist’s drawing of what a balloon landing on Titan could look like, Wikipedia attribution here.

There is an 84-minute NASA lecture on YouTube.

My own unfinished script “69 Minutes to Titan” (about the length of time light would take to reach it)  views Titan as a place that could be settled by “angels” (earlier descriptive link, March 4, 2014; old treatment); and my “Do Ask, Do Tell: Epiphany” also imagines a space station on Titan.  Here’s a script for a little short film “Suprisie Planet” or “Welcome to Titan”, link.

(Published Thursday Nov. 12 2015 at 1:45 PM EST)

Videos on Brown Mountain, Road to Nowhere, and Cumberland Gap Tunnel

IMG_6103

I had meant to get to Brown Mountain in North Carolina last month but couldn’t fit in the time for days away, so I did a few one-day trips nearer.  I’ll try to visit it in the early Spring 2016 after daylight savings returns and snow is melted.

I visited the general area in July 2013, driving through the Smokies from Charlotte and Hickory to (eventually) Oak Ridge, TN.  I drove up NC 226, the next highway to the West.  The pictures here are a close as I got to Brown Mountain.  Had I known more about the subject then, I would have chosen the 181 route.

IMG_6104

Brown Mountain is a ridge that extends somewhat perpendicular to the Blue Ridge, on the county line between Burke and Caldwell counties.  Linville Gorge is to the north, and the nearest town is Morganton, with a viewing overlook on Highway 181.  It’s a fairly easy drive for people in the Charlotte area, and the server farms of Apple and Google, around Hickory, are not far away.

The ridge typically runs around 2800 feet, with many sharp rocks and crags.  It somewhat resembles Old Rag in Virginia (80 miles from Washington DC), which has a similar relationship to the Blue Ridge by jutting out to the southeast.  The lights, which may have a reddish hue (like a “red shift”) often appear below the ridge top and may rise above somewhat, but they are usually not “high in the sky” like most UFO sightings.

There is a local cable TV episode in “Carl White’s Life in the Carolinas” called “The Mystery of the Brown Mountain Lights” (21 minutes without commercials), by LITCTV, from March 2015.

This episode cuts through the UFO myths and gets to the science.  The most likely explanation is that magnetite and certain forms of quartz (which has pizo-electric properties) occur together in the same area.  Heavy rain can dissolve tannic acid in fallen leaves.  The resulting reactions seem to release phosphorescent gas (with some sulfur compounds) which some say can resembled ball lightning (which normally would occur only in thunderstorms, not in the late fall when these lights are most likely to be seen).

Quartz (including blue quartz) and Magnetite occur in many locations in the Piedmont and Blue Ridge and valleys in both Virginia and North Carolina, but not usually in exactly the same place, as is the case on Brown Mountain.  Another area with similar deposits may be the Blue Ridge east of Wytheville VA, another area with supposed UFO sightings (especially in the late 1980s).  The Appomattox area NE of Lynchburg may be another such location.  Roberts Mountain SW if Charlotteville may have attracted the Monroe Institute as a location for similar reasons.  This sort of “pseudo-ball-lightning”, which seems harmless, may sometimes be seen at other locations in both states.

The Brown Mountain lights became the subject of a film “Alien Abduction” by Matty Beckerman, reviewed by me on Blogger in Aug. 2014, here.

Another attraction in the “Tarheel State” is “The Road to Nowhere: Abandoned Mountain Tunnel“, itself the subject of a mystery film by Monte Hellman, reviewed by me in July 2012 here.  This was an unfinished highway project near Bryson City NC and Lake Fontana, itself a location in “A Walk in the Woods” (by Kewn Kwapis, review link).   A filmmaker (who sponsors “Adam the Woo” on Tumblr) has a walk through the tunnel at the end of an obscure road.  It looks like it is about 3000 feet long (a little shorter than the Paw-Paw tunnel on the C&O Canal in Maryland, and much shorter than the Pennsylvania Turnpike tunnels).

Finally, let me share the fact that I visited the Cumberland Gap in February 1990, 500 miles from DC, in a rental car from Johnson City TN, on a gratuitous weekend trip.  That was before the tunnel on 25E was finished.  The construction of a tunnel, at 1600 feet elevation, to go under a 500 foot ridge seems gratuitous, when you consider that the Pennsylvania Turnpike took out the Sideling Hill, Rays Hill, and Laurel Hill tunnels in the 60s, and may take out Allegheny Mountain by 2020 (story).  In Maryland, officials made a 350 foot cut in Sideling Hill rather than build a tunnel on I-68 near Hancock MD. I prefer tunnels to “mountaintop removal”.

 

 

Here’s the “Cumberland Gap Tunnel”, simultaneous north and south approaches, filmed by Michael Kincaid.

(Published Wednesday Nov. 4, 2015 at 1 PM EST)

In fifth grade, I was a “filmmaker”, so-to-speak

draw4

During a good part of the year 1954, when I was in fifth and then sixth grade, I developed an interesting hobby, “making movies.”  Actually, my cousin, one year older, and I drew “filmstrips” which at the time were an important media in the school systems.  We would have movies to write up, mostly black and white, and filmstrips, mostly history and social studies.  In fifth grade, I recall a BW movie about the Texas Republic, odd to be taught in Virginia. Gov. Perry would be pleased today.

draw9

Actually, the way we had handled “social studies” in fifth grade probably provided the inspiration.  We studied the geography of the continental United Stats in sections.  Each one of us would get assigned a state, and develop reports and drawings based on the state.  There were also project murals, little layouts (rather like model railroads without the trains) in the classroom.  I think I got Montana, not California,

In ninth grade (“General Education”), in 1958, we would do something similar with world geography.  I remember doing “Afghanistan” which turns out, now, to be oddly prescient.  I even picked it out, and the teacher said she knew that’s what I would pick.  Did we both read the future?  Maybe Iraq or Syria would seem more prescient now.

We each set up “home theaters” to show the filmstrips, and these consisted largely of manual scrolls as feeder and take-up reels for the drawings.   Sometimes we experimented with enlarging or altering the images with mirrors and magnifying lenses, a forerunner to Imax, maybe?

We even had an “Academy Awards”, I think around September, that ended in disaster.  We were kids.  Maybe we had two ceremonies.

Most of my filmstrips were based on specific places.  Over time, we built up drawing larger images, from “regular” to “Cinemascope” to “VistaVision”, to “Cinerama”, and finally “Cineramascope.”  Many of mine were drawings based on images in the 1950 World Book Encyclopedia.

I remember winning “Best Educational” with “The Land of the Bible”. These must have comprised pictures of the Holy Land.  At the time, I could not have cared about politics, about what was in Israel and what was on the West Bank, or possibly farther into Syria or even Iraq. Kids don’t care about other people’s religions or political affiliations until adults make them do so. But at age 11, I probably could not have grasped what the Holocausr had meant.  In fact, right now there is an outstanding IMAX film “Jerusalem” in museum auditoriums now (including Franklin Institute in Philadelphia).  We need something like a “Land of the Bible, Torah and Koran”, in Imax, without the politics.

I don’t remember the names of many of the other filmstrips.  I found a strip of “Alaska”:

Image 1

k4alaska

Image 2

alaska2

Image 3

alaska3

I made a few “horror” and “comedy” strips.  “One out of every six” was to be a horror film.  My contributions were “Squish” and “Sea Monsters”.  The first of these might have been inspired by “The Blob”.   For comedy, there was “Pie Face”, and I think a man “got it” from his wife in more ways than one, even including the razor.  In those days, movies weren’t supposed to present “real” romance or marriage.  (There was “Bloody Mary” in “South Pacific”, remember.)

There was one “movie” my mother detested.  I think it was something like “Old Maid” (maybe inspired by the card game), based on the idea that some women weren’t pretty enough to find husbands — remember a scene about that in “Gone with the Wind”?

Maybe it was something like “Other Men’s Women”, pre-code Hollywood.  Both this and “Maid” are in my Netflix queue to refresh “boyhood” memories.

Other images

WY:

draw1

CA:

draw2

UT:

draw3

SD:

draw5

CA:

draw6

AZ:

draw7

MT:

draw8

(First image is Mt. Rainier, WA);

After sixth grade, the summer of 1955, I and another friend would do fungo fantasy baseball in our backyards.  The Baltimore Orioles and St, Louis Cardinals won the pennants, and St. Louis would have won the “World Series”.  The Senators finished last.   Unfortunately, the paper records were tossed.  The Orioles had just moved to Baltimore from St. Louis in 1954, and the first season, much of the outfield at Memorial Stadium had no fence.

(Published: Jan. 29, 2015, 8:30 PM EST)

WJLA7 News Channel 8 in DC hosts Town Hall: “Your Voice, Your Future: The New Terror Threat”: video clip excerpts

IMG11402

On Thursday, October 16, 2014, News Channel 8 (of television station WJLA-7 in Washington DC) held a Town Hall “Your Voice, Your Future: The New Terror Threat“.   (This title has also been spelled in different word orders: “The New Terror Threat: Your Future, Your Voice” and “The New Terror Threat: Your Voice, Your Future”.)

I’ve described the points made in my “cf” blog Oct. 16, but I want to present all the video I made here from YouTube

Part 1  (Suicide bombers mentioned)

Part 2

Part 3 (threats on military members within the US)

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9 (relative seriousness of ISIS/ISIL threat and Ebola)

(Published: Friday Oct. 17, 2014 at 2:30 PM EDT)