Category Archives: lectures and sermons

Two early videos (Hamline lecture, 1998; walkabout in Minnesota and Wisconsin, 2002)

still12

I have finally converted and uploaded two big video files that I made in Minneapolis when I was living there.

The first is a lecture (57 minutes) that I gave at Hamline University in St. Paul MN on February 25, 1998, on the Liberty Channel in Minneapolis, while still on crutches from my hip fracture.  The lecture outlines the concepts in the “Do Ask, Do Tell: A Gay Conservative Lashes Back: book (1997, 2000).

The URL is here.

I would give a similar lecture at the University of Minnesota on March 31, 1999.

The second film (33 minutes) is a hodgepodge of soliloquies and little walks taken with a Sony camera in 2002, in Minnesota and Wisconsin.  I sent it to the late Gode Davis (“American Lynching”) and he was not that impressed, well technically.  I will probably do some work on this in Final Cut Pro.  The link is here. I do think a lot of ideas here are still pertinent today (even the stuff about maintaining freedoms in the face of terrorism and “asymmetric warfare”.

This is VERY independent film.

See also the earlier post Feb. 16, 2014.

(Published Monday Nov. 30, 2015 at 7 PM EST)

 

WJLA7 News Channel 8 offers “Fight for Freedom” Town Hall regarding “chilling effects” on journalism from radical Islam, North Korea, and other foreign interests

IMG20775

On Monday, February 9, 2015 I sat in the studio audience on the Second Floor at WJLA TV (7), in Arlington VA, for a special debate on News Channel 8 at 7 PM EST (one hour), “Town Hall: Fight for Freedom: Your Voice, Your Future” .  Sometimes WJLA refers to this program in a different word order “Your Voice, Your Future: Fight for Freedom”.

The four panelists were Frank Gaffney from the Center for Security Policy, Clifford May from the Foundation for Defense of Democracies, Jane Hall, Professor of Communications (Journalism) at American University in Washington DC, Faheem Younus (“Muslimerican”) and remotely, Congressman Scott Perry (R-PA).  Jeff Barnum moderated, and Scott Thuman managed the external stories and questions from social media.

WJLA offers a complete 58-minute video here.  I’m “in the movie” as the old man in the middle on the second row.

I made six small excerpts.

Clip 1

Clip 2  will be shown as an embed.  There was a stirring comment about how author Salman Rushdie (“Satanic Verses”) was told he was “in trouble”.

Clip 3

Clip 4

Clip 5

Clip 6

(Posted Wednesday, February 11, 2015 at 2 PM EST.)

WJLA7 News Channel 8 in DC hosts Town Hall: “Your Voice, Your Future: The New Terror Threat”: video clip excerpts

IMG11402

On Thursday, October 16, 2014, News Channel 8 (of television station WJLA-7 in Washington DC) held a Town Hall “Your Voice, Your Future: The New Terror Threat“.   (This title has also been spelled in different word orders: “The New Terror Threat: Your Future, Your Voice” and “The New Terror Threat: Your Voice, Your Future”.)

I’ve described the points made in my “cf” blog Oct. 16, but I want to present all the video I made here from YouTube

Part 1  (Suicide bombers mentioned)

Part 2

Part 3 (threats on military members within the US)

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9 (relative seriousness of ISIS/ISIL threat and Ebola)

(Published: Friday Oct. 17, 2014 at 2:30 PM EDT)

LOTUS: Light of Truth Universal Shrine; “Many Paths, One Truth”

IMG10902

The LOTUS Light of Truth Universal Shrine, of the Satchindananda Ashram at Yogaville VA, offers an introductory video depicting its construction from 1980-1986 (near the James River in Buckingham County).  The flood plain had to be elevated by earth moving from around the area.

IMG10905

The video is supplemented by a DVD, sold in the gift shop, “Many Paths, One Truth: The 1977 Yoga Ecumenical Service“, a 25 minute service.  The point is made that it is not possible for every dogmatic religious belief system to be literally true.

a

IMG_0931

I appreciate the fact that the DVD comes with instructions as to how to release the disc properly!  Many commercial DVD’s are a struggle to release.

IMG_0932

(Published: Wednesday, Aug. 27, 2014 at 12:45 PM EDT)

“Introduction to Remote Viewing”, classroom video from Monroe Institute near Charlottesville, VA

IMG_0615

The Monroe Institute (20 miles south of Charlottesville VA off of US 29 on Roberts Mountain, on a private estate) and the Foundation for Global Humanity offer a 75 minute video on DVD “Introduction to Remote Viewing“, with Skip Atwater and Paul Elder as the presenters.

The presentation is in several separate classroom sessions, with clients sitting at tables.

A remote viewing session requires the viewer, a monitor, and later the judge.

IMG_0616

Students were asked to view objects known to the staff from photographs in sealed envelopes.  The objects were a wide variety of things,  Some were unusual buildings (like a column in Africa, an unusual upside office structure in Europe), one was a wreck of several small canoes in France, one was on Mars, and one appeared to be a bizarre railroad junction, perhaps from a futuristic model railroad.

The presenters said that the military and CIA use remote viewing for intelligence, and police use it to locate kidnap victims or perpetrators.

IMG_9327

(Published: Wednesday, July 30, 2014, 1 PM, EDT)

Update: Sept. 29 (Re. Jan 14, 2015)

The best legitimate YouTube link from the Monroe Institute now seems to be this.

The Monroe Institute runs one-day free programs at the retreat center on one Saturday about every two months in the warmer months.  You have to get there on time, and it’s on top of a mountain after a dirt road. Otherwise, the programs require quite a time and money commitment.

IMG10884

The retreat center is shown above.  The main headquarters are farther down the mountain and reachable on paved road.  There are dormitories at the main location (possibly at the retreat, too).

IMG10863

There is also an interesting stone monolith (Aug. 23, 2014 visit).

IMG10880

There are many stories of people learning astral projection there. Here is a typical story from Japan, link.

As for my own “views” of other worlds (in “dreams”) I can report this:  Generally, there are lots of railroad trams, few private vehicles.  There are lots of dormitories and communal spaces, and large cities seem to be under domes or synedoches, probably protection from radiation common with smaller M-stars.  Few, if any people, live in single-family homes.  There is a lot of low-lying real estate and lots of waterfront, rather like Dubai.  Society seems to be segmented into different communities where different techologies are available.  That is what I “see”.  I wonder if others report the same thing.  More details to come later.

(Monroe Institute just told me by phone that the Oct. 11, 2014 session is full, Next one-day session probably isn’t until spring, because mountain road is usually snowed in during winter.)

“The Signature of God”: this is a series of sermons (not a film) reconciling the Bible with cosmology, sort of

IMG_9714

The Signature of God” is offered on Netflix as a rental DVD (from Questar), running 81 minutes, dating from 2003, where Grant Jeffrey explains the physical and historical evidence that “the Bible is the Word of God”.
*
In fact, it seems to be a series of sermons (there is an audience) about various categories of evidence for creationism and that the Bible is an authoritative scripture of the Word of God. The series accompanies a book which Jeffrey promotes here.
*
There are some interesting ideas in the sermons. Jeffrey mentions entropy, as actually being noted in Genesis, as the idea that in nature things run down. One could say that a Creator can reverse entropy, but one can make the argument that it is life and reproduction (especially sexual reproduction) and the possibility of free will that counters entropy.
*
He talks about physical evidence of the Tower of Babel in Iraq, underneath an artificial “mountain”, looking rather like a landfill, that covers the ruins of Babylon. All human languages, he says, comes from one root.
*
He also talks about the billions of other galaxies, and about the idea that elements (including ice and water) are found in the far reaches of the Solar System, as evidenced by comets. Why would God create billions of galaxies, each with billions of stars and solar systems, without other civilizations?
*
Our own civilization has made amazing progress in the past two decades in communications, allowing anyone to become a publisher and broadcaster and make his own reputation without having to navigate the previous modes of competition (or even form and preserve a family). It hasn’t made comparable progress with “man in space”, despite the initial promise of putting Man on the Moon in 1969. Perhaps that progress will come suddenly, with the ability to communicate with the Afterlife, and deal with wormholes or new experience of space-time. I don’t think it can happen in my lifetime, but maybe it will in the lifetimes of younger adults whom I pay attention to.


(Published Saturday June 7, 2014 at 12:45 PM EDT)

My speech at Hamline University in 1998 (with cable rebroadcast, and videos)

IMG_8175

I’m going to start introducing my own work in this “Media Reviews” blog, in order to build up to my future plans, and to supplement the “footnotes blog” for my new “Do Ask Do Tell III” book.

On February 25, 1998, I gave a lecture on my first book to undergraduate students at Hamline University in St. Paul, MN.  Students took notes, like they were going to turn in themes to professors.  The lecture was arranged by a graduating senior from Hamline whom I had met through the Libertarian Party of Minnesota after moving to Minneapolis on September 1, 1997 – actually at a reception (and informal booksigning party) somewhere around one of the lakes in town in late October (it was still mild that Sunday night, which I remember well).

still12

The 56-minute talk was carried on Channel 6 on Minneapolis Cable in March, 1998.  I have made a DVD of it.  Using older technology of over a decade ago. I extracted some videos from it.  I’m not sure yet how easy it would be to get this onto YouTube or copied onto this site, so I will give the link to the first file on the “doaskdotell” site.  There are 34 such files, each well less than a minute.  I do think I talk constructively about the “Relationship Paradox” (file 30) and that there is tension between independence as a virtue for the individual and interdependence as necessary for society,

The MPG link to the first file is this:

IMG_1168

I would be accompanied at some libertarian book fairs by Edmund Contoski, who published under the imprint “American Liberty Publishers”, link here.

One of these is “Makers and Takers”, the title of which is self-explanatory.  Yes, it does remind us of Ayn Rand.  The other is a novel “The Trojan Project”, where the author imagines a telephone virus.  I thought it was fanciful at the time, but then Stephen King came up with “Cell” in 2006.  And now, smart phone malware is a big security issue, and certainly fits well into the NSA spying scandal revealed by Edward Snowden.

speech2

I would later give a similar speech at the University of Minnesota March 31, 1999, and a related talk to the Dakota Unitarian Fellowship in Rosemount, MN in February 2002.

(Published at 11 PM EST Sunday, Februrary 16, 2014).

Update: Oct. 20, 2014

Thumbnails for DVD of the Hamline lecture. I’ll start working on YouTube transcription soon.  See Nov. 30, 2015 post.

IMG_1481