High Heel Race in Washington DC, 17th St, 30th anniversary, pre-Halloween block party


High Heel Race on 17th St in Washington DC, Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2016 at 9 PM. (30th anniversary). There were lots of signs with variations of Donald Trump’s “Male America Great Again”.

There was a little more gender bending among non-drag queens than usual.

People were checking the World Series on their phones.











(Posted: Tuesday, October 25, 2016 at 11:30 PM EDT)


Transgender presentation and QA at a potluck dinner at an Arlington VA library this evening


Sunday night, Roxanne Edwards presented “Trans Matters” as a discussion of transgender issues after a potluck for the Arlington Gay and Lesbian Alliance at the Arlington County Library.

Here are some clips from the discussion:













13 (my existential question on homophobia)






(Posted: Sunday, Oct. 23, 2016 at 11:30 PM EDT)

Quick train video in Ellicott City MD, recovering from floods


Here is some video from Ellicott City, MD today, surrounding the CSX freight train — it seems to be headed south — is that for DC?

Locals tell me that the water (July 30) came to about a foot above the antiques’s shop on the corner across the street from the station and museum — about 6 feet in the street.  The Tiber River runs underneath the city.




(Posted Oct. 12, 2016 at 9:15 PM EDT)


DC Center Global Reception, 4th Annual, speeches


On Thursday, October 6, 2016, DC Center Global  (Washington DC) held its 4th Annual Reception.  This group provides for needs of LGBTQ asylu,m seekers (which I have discussed more on the “News Commentary” blog, esp. July 21).  There are more details on a legacy blog here, but I took several clips

1 (Introduction)

2 (Schwenke) who emphasized that Center Global says “yes” when the rest of the world says “No” to asylum seekers, especially LGBT, most especially transgender.


4 (Hernandez, El Salvador)


6 (Oke, Nigeria)

7 (Oke mentions the need for housing once)



10 (Conclusion)

(Posted: Friday, Oct. 7, 2016 at 10:45 AM EDT)

Video taken near NYC explosion site in Chelsea



Videos I took on 23rd St and then 22nd St Saturday, September 18, 2016 near site of explosion in New York City’s Chelsea neighborhood.




First photo sent to WJLA shown on nightly news

Photo on 27th


Photo next day


More background:

I did send some material to “conventional” media sources and some were retweeted and shown on commercial television.  I appreciate this.  Let me give a little background. I was in the Cinepolis theater watching “Snowden” (reviewed on another blog) and the movie played to conclusion. As I left, I saw the theater was filtering people out of the theater in one lane and closing, at around 9:45 PM.  That appears to be about 75 minutes after the blast.  The police ushered me and a few other people off 23rd st beyond a barricade on 7th Ave.


I walked around the neighborhood, and found police allowed people to walk in most areas even though cars had been cut off.  On 22nd street (between sixth and seventh), I saw at least one blood-stained garment.  I do not know how it could have gotten there from 23rd St.  FBI (identifiable by jackets) was just arriving.  Had the attacker been there?  I did not touch anything, as I realized it could be evidence.  I walked on, over the 5th Ave, and then walked up past the Flatiron Building to Broadway back up to my hotel room at the Ace Hotel at 29th and Broadway.  I saw the barricades on 27th street, where an unexploded device was found.  I suppose I am lucky that access to the hotel was not closed off, as access to many apartments around 23rd street near the blast were.   I wonder how police knew to look in 27th St and knew there was nothing on the street (29th) where my hotel was.


I suppose I am doubly fortunate — I had walked past the bomb site on the way to dinner two hours before he blast (I ate at the Dallas Barbecue at 7th ave and 23rd St, a popular place during the Tribeca Film Festival, which I have attended before, which does use the Cinepolis nearby).  Several younger adult celebrities, at least one of whom I know somewhat on social media, have apartments or condos near the blast site.  This is a very popular area, for both LGBT and “single straights” especially.


Peter Bergen has a detailed article on CNN about what we know today.

The New York Times has drone photographs showing in detail where all the major events happened.

I was concerned for a while this morning about possible Amtrak disruptions, but my own train (Northeast Regional) left only about 10 minutes late today and had no problems returning to DC today.

Since “establishment” media (or even police) is more likely that usual to revisit this specific blog posting, I want readers to know that a good index to the rest of my blogs, for users who do not know my work, is here.

(Published Sunday Sept. 18, 2016 at 6 PM EDT; major revisions Monday, Sept, 19, 2016 at about 9:45 pM EDT)


“Donald Trump!” says “you’re not all welcome in my new hotel on Pennsylvania Ave

How many times can I say “Donald Trump” without breathing?

Here are two short film clips at his Hotel on Pennsylvania Ave. in Washington DC, Monday, Sept. 12, late in the day. Actually, he still leases the building from the USPS.




Don’t expect “radical hospitality” from Donald Trump.


(Posted Monday, Sept. 12, 2016 at 11:45 PM)

AARP Meal Pack Challenge


Here is a little “amateur” footage from the closing of the AARP “Meal Pack Challenge” today near the Reflecting Pool in Washington.  I had signed up for the last shift at 2 PM, and weighted rice for 20 minutes until we ran out and started packing up.


The benefit is intended to provide food for impoverished seniors in the Washington DC area,





(Posted: Monday, September 12, 2016 at 4:30 PM EDT)

My own Amazon and imdb reviews


I have resumed writing a few reviews of books and films on Amazon (or imdb).

Generally, these will be media items that have more than usual significance to subject matter I cover in my own books.  In some cases I do know the authors or producers, but I try to keep the reviews factual.

On Amazon, you have to assign stars.  I don’t do this on my own blog reviews, which are more like “essay report cards”.

The reviews will always be shorter than my blog reviews, never copies.

I have not done reviews on Netflix, only offered stars. That helps me keep track of films I have rented.

Here are the last few books that I did:

(1) Ted Koppel “Lights Out”

(2) Tom Clynes and Taylor Wilson, “The Boy Who Played with Fusion”

(3) Dean Hannotte and Ann Agranoff, “Century of Growth” (I never got the confirmation email from Amazon on this one, don’t know why)

(4) Jack Andraka, “Breakthrough”

(5) Pam Daniels and Robert Le Blanc, “Silent Drums”

Over time, more will be added.

You can find all my reviews by clicking on my name as a reviewer, but you have to be signed on to Amazon with your own account first (same for imdb).

(Published: Monday, September 5, 2016 at 11 PM EDT)


Update: Sept. 7

Sometimes people call me an “esteemed author” or “distinguished author” at social gatherings, as if pandering a kind of false submission.  The hyperbole is a little annoying and unnecessary.  Likewise, people call me a “professional writer” on Facebook.  I do have an author page.  But so far I have been mostly self-published (with a few scattered exceptions), and don’t make a living from writing, which is very difficult.  But this could change soon.

Comparative media reviews on hot topics